Synchronicity, and a challenge.

Today, I stayed home from work.  I didn’t sleep well last night, so I called and told them I wouldn’t be there.  I eventually crawled out of bed and poured myself a cup of the coffee my wife made hours ago.  As I was sitting at the kitchen table, I was reading a book called Sketch!: The Non-Artist’s Guide to Inspiration, Technique, and Drawing Daily Life by France Belleville-Van Stone.  In the book, France mentions a website called Sustainably Creative by an artist called Michael Nobbs, and I decided to check it out.

The first thing that I saw at the top of the page was a notice: The #20MinutesADay Challenge Starts TODAY!  I looked a little further, and decided it must be fate.  This is exactly what I need to give myself a kick in the seat of the pants!

A little bit about me:  I’m 42 years old, and I’ve been working at the same job for over 20 years.  The job entails taking a client’s logo and turning it into a program that tells computerized embroidery machines what to sew.  It is not a creative job.  Basically, I trace corporate logos all day.  I am thankful for the job, but it has crushed my soul and completely strangled any creative impulses.  By the time I get home, I have no energy to draw.

I really want to get back into the groove of drawing.  It has literally been years since I have done anything that I consider creative art.  Sure, I do some projects when someone asks me to create a wedding invitation or a birthday card, but nothing that I put my heart into.  It’s time for that to change.  To that end, I signed up for the #20MinutesADay challenge and set up this blog.

Yes, this is my first ever blog post.  I’m an introvert, and I don’t do any of the social media stuff that “normal” people do.  So please go easy on me, okay?  I don’t have a clear idea where this will lead, but I’m going to give it a try.

In the book “Sketch!”, France says that blind contour drawings are a great way to loosen up and get over the fear of making a mark on a fresh page.  It’s something you can do without the intent of it ever being “art”, and you don’t even need to care about the results.  So tonight, I spent 20 minutes drawing at a meeting I went to.  Here’s what happened.

IMG_4596

This is looking down at my legs and feet.  It feels really strange to post these.  I know they are just blind contour drawings, but still I feel like I shouldn’t show anyone.  Oh well.  I need to get over myself.

IMG_4598

I have a feeling it’s going to take a while for me to re-learn the skills that I spent so long developing.  It’s not “like riding a bike”.  If you don’t use your drawing skills, they will get rusty.  My 20 minutes a day will be spent trying to teach myself how to draw again.

 

One thought on “Synchronicity, and a challenge.

Leave a Reply

